Celebrating the AISHK Scholars of 2022

Each year we proudly honour the graduates of the previous year who have achieved outstanding HSC and IB exam results by inducting them as AISHK Scholars. The names of these graduates are inscribed on the Scholars Honour Board in the school auditorium in recognition of their overall academic excellence. The criteria for the award of Scholar is based both on Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) and achievement of grades at the highest level in individual subjects. Additionally, the top-scoring HSC and IB students are awarded the prestigious ‘Tom Corkhill Trophy’, named in honour of long-serving former AISFL Chairman, Mr Tom Corkhill.

It is my great pleasure to announce that this year’s Tom Corkhill Trophy winners are: Michael Lin (HSC) and Karmen Lau (IB).

There were 36 students in the HSC cohort who sat exams last October, with an impressive 20% of our entries achieving Band 6 results. This saw AISHK placed 71st in the annual Sydney Morning Herald rankings (out of nearly 800 schools offering the HSC). The following 9 students are named as Scholars for achieving both an ATAR over 90 and multiple Band 6 results: Luke Briscoe, Emily Busby, Martin Dy, Jasmine Ingram, Michael Lin, Ian Lu, Christopher Meau, James Pattison and Annett Tang.

In the IB, there were 32 AISHK students who sat for International Baccalaureate Diploma exams last November, with an impressive median score for the cohort of 37 points, equating to an ATAR of over 95. The IB scholars for 2022 are: Serena Chen, George Cheng, Ryan Cheng, Karmen Lau, Rosanne Lee, Wilson Liao, Oliver Lopez, Bridget Ma, Sofia Sze and Natalie Yuen.

We are delighted to share the following video presentation in honour of our newly inducted Scholars, featuring Head of School, Mina Dunstan, and former Head of School, Howard West. These students overcame significant challenges over the two years of their senior studies and achieved superb results that we are all extremely proud of. Congratulations to them and their families, and we hope they are enjoying the next chapter of their lives beyond AISHK.

Peter Phillips | Head of Secondary