Theodore Vasilopoulos Awarded Brother John Taylor Memorial Prize

Theodore Vasilopolous, AISHK 2018 graduate, was awarded the Brother John Taylor Memorial Prize in Sydney at the NSW Parliament House. Mr Darryll Hopkins was on-hand in Sydney to represent Theodore at the ceremony, as Theodore was overseas receiving treatment.

The NESA News of April 1 published details of the presentation. See below.


Pictured: 2018 Brother John Taylor Memorial Prize winners Jaida Damstra (left), Zoe Dunn (centre) and Darryll Hopkins, representative for Theodore Vasilopoulos (right).

The Brother John Taylor Memorial Prize is presented each year to a student or students who have overcome significant hardship to attain academic excellence in their HSC

The award (first presented in 1993) was established in memory of Brother John Taylor who made a significant contribution to education in NSW.

About Brother John

Brother John was a renowned senior educationalist who made his mark on NSW education as a Christian Brother, teacher, principal and Executive Director of Catholic Education. He was a valued member of education boards, including the Board of Studies NSW from its inception until his death in 1993.

Brother John was known for his commitment, strong principles and integrity, and worked tirelessly for excellence in education. To acknowledge his lifelong dedication to education and his commitment to the ideals of equity, the Memorial Prize recognises outstanding academic achievement by students despite disability or other disadvantage.

The Prize

The prize comprises a cash grant, a trophy and a certificate recognising the award.

The Brother John Taylor Memorial Prize is administered by trustees representing NESA, Catholic Schools NSW, NSW Department of Education and the Association of Independent Schools NSW.